Former No. 1 tennis player Karolina Pliskova bashes umpire's chair with racket after loss

Share This Story!

Let friends in your social network know what you are reading about


Former No. 1 tennis player Karolina Pliskova bashes umpire’s chair with racket after loss

Former world No. 1 tennis player Karolína Pliskova was so angry with an umpire that she bashed the umpire’s chair with her racket several times — instead of shaking hands — following a stunning loss to Maria Sakkari. No fine has been announced yet by the WTA.

Posted!

A link has been posted to your Facebook feed.

Former world No. 1 Karolína Pliskova was so irate with an umpire at a Wednesday tournament in Rome that she hit the umpire’s chair with her racket several times — instead of shaking hands — after a stunning loss to Maria Sakkari.

Pliskova, the No. 6 seed from the Czech Republic, lost 3-6, 6-3, 7-5 in the second round of the Italian Open. She argued with the umpire on several occasions during the match about points that went out of her favor and calls that were obviously wrong when shown on replay.   

As both…

Read Story